AFK gathering gump improvements

Discussion in 'Era Discussion' started by Wil, Nov 23, 2013.

1. Wil

Wil Member

Hi Chris,

I've been playing for a couple months now and having a great time. I think you did a smart job with the AFK gathering gump. It frees GMs from having to be bad-guy policemen over something trivial and it makes enforcement of the rule consistent and predictable for us players. It's a good thing.

That having been said, if you'll hear them I have some suggestions for improvement.

With these suggestions I made a couple of assumptions. If the assumptions are wrong then the justifications I offer for change will be in error as well. The assumptions:

* Though the exact details vary, essentially every free shard makes it against the rules to macro-gather resources like ore, logs and wool while away from the computer.

* Were it allowed, a cadre of 24/7 macro-gatherers would seriously dent server and network capacity for the game, impairing the enjoyment sought by folks who actually want to play.

* Too-easily stockpiled resources would distort the game economy, making portions of the game unplayable to anyone unwilling to compete in macro-bot wars.

Based on these assumptions I have some suggestions for improving the gump:

1. Change the response timer from 2 to 10 minutes. The purpose behind the rule is still served: the extra time won't make a difference to anyone running a bot afk -- they'll still go to jail. But, someone in a desperate fight in another window, visiting the fridge, or God forfend peeing, won't get burned because merely because memory of the attended gather bot fled in the face of urinary urgency.