Blacksmiths on UOR

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by TylerD, May 30, 2018.

1. TylerD

TylerD New Member

I am currently building my smith, because on older shards I never did that, but always wanted to.

While skilling said smith, I realized/read that on UOR plate armor or weaker metal armor is pretty much inferior to bone or leather armor.

So as a total beginner in terms of blacksmithing I would like to ask, if its worth bulding a blacksmith in UOR and why?

Thanks alot!
  2. eherruh

eherruh Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

As with everything in UO, the worth is going to depend a lot on what you ascribe value to personally.

If you are planning to get rich selling your smithy wares, you are going to be disappointed.

If you want to play the BOD game or have a convenient way to repair your high-end weapons without the risk of taking them into town, then you'll have to weigh the literal cost (ingots run 8gp/per and you'll need tens and tens of thousands to GM) against those benefits.
  3. Pirul

Pirul Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

Do you want to BoD or not?

I say it is definitely worth it, but you need to BoD.
  4. wylwrk

wylwrk Well-Known Member

I think just about any character combination can be successful if backed by the right personality.

The thing that others will come in and say about bulk order deeds and the lack of interest in black smithing goods is not easily debated.

That said in similar situations I've been pleasantly surprised by the ingenuity of some of our players to turn something often overlooked or passed over into a successful enterprise.

I'll say this if you are an active role playing honest to goodness blacksmith wandering the streets with your pack horse named Millie selling your wares I would stop dead in my tracks and buy up your lot.
    PaddyOBrien likes this.
  5. TylerD

TylerD New Member