Hello from a new guy, just a few questions :) .

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by Loode, Aug 8, 2017.

1. Loode

Loode New Member

Hello everyone.

As you've guessed im new to the shard, been in and out of UO for years but would still class myself as a bit of a newbie :p

now firstly when im following the link on the homepage to the renaissance IRC it connects says im banned then disconnects me but ive never used it before any ideas there?

id like to know if resource gathering (mining,lumberjacking) is very profitable on this shard? alot of people may say make a bard archer as your first char they make lots of gold blah blah blah
    but ive done all that on previous chars and actually dont mind playing a gatherer.

id also like to know is gathering quite dangerous if i wanted to collect the rarer ores or trees?
    would that require some kind of gatherer/mage/dexxer hybrid for best results?

and lastly is there much competition here for selling resources? id love a ingots and planks shop :p

thanks for reading :)
    newme and ReZon like this.
  2. Sheepdog

Sheepdog Well-Known Member

Hello and welcome, I'm only a month and a bit in myself so take this advice with that in mind!

From what I've seen, understand and experienced lumberjacking is a good resource gathering skill in regards to GPH (gold per hour) especially when you have high enough LJ to collect oak boards. (80.1+ I think - someone else will correct me if I'm wrong)

With regards to the safety of that, someone recently made a UOAM filter that shows the location of oak bearing trees and I'm sure you can utilise that to check for guard zones etc.

It's awesome.

AFK resource gathering is not allowed and there's a system in place that makes sure you're actually at the computer called the AFK gump, don't try and cheat it or you'll end up in jail for various different lengths dependent on the number of previous offences.