I'm a noob

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by Tol, Jan 8, 2019.

1. Tol

Tol Member

SO I'm going to be a little rambly but I just came back from an extended UO break. I had just started playing UOR when RL got too busy so naturally I came back to it.

I forget a lot of stuff, which is actually useful.. I'm from the EA servers originally and so I have to 'unlearn' a lot of what I already 'know'. Feel sad for me that I had no idea about UO until around 2005 and played EA servers until about 3 years ago. My history aside I didn't know what UO should be and now that I do I am back to how I felt that first time I logged in.

Anyway I had a few noob questions I couldn't find the answers to easily and thought I would ask the community. I don't have time to read through all the forums, so if this is addressed easily somewhere please link it up!

What are some 'standard' templates of the time? I see a large gap between survivability and RP. I guess I'm asking what a good balance is for a main toon? It seems to me that template diversity is a bit limited in terms of effectiveness. A 'stun mage' will probably be better prepared to deal with a PK encounter, but a RP toon is more fun and has a more organic experience, and a tamer seems to be the best of both but can get tedius. I don't need to be a min/max player but I'd like to know the general feel of what skills are more essential than others. I don't mind getting killed, it happens, but I'd like to have a chance to defend myself, so I don't want to invest time in skills that.. well suck.