Is Orion client allowed?

Discussion in 'Server & Client Support' started by Twister, Apr 17, 2018.

  1. Twister

    Twister Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    301
    After trying out Orion for one day (not on UOR) I have a hard time coming back to the OSI client (due to poor FPS, screen size and rendering artifacts, not because of scripting or anything else).

    The code of conduct states that only OSI/EA clients are allowed. However, Orion is not on "explicitly not allowed" list either.

    Since I've seen some speculation about this on IRC lately, may I ask for a definitive answer from @Chris ?

    Thanks in advance!
  2. RIN

    RIN Well-Known Member
    UO:R Donor

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2017
    Messages:
    958
    Likes Received:
    920
    I'm pretty sure Orion is not allowed as it is a modified OSI/EA client. I just did a search to see if Chris ever mentioned the Orion client in detail but couldn't find anything. So of course, the prudent path forward would be to not use it until Chris posts here for confirmation that it is allowed.
  3. Twister

    Twister Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2017
    Messages:
    528
    Likes Received:
    301
    There's a long public discussion of Orion in this thread, but yeah, I don't think Chris ever made a statement on whether it's allowed or not in its current shape.

    Because of how code of conduct looks right now, I'm not going to use it, but I was hoping for a clarification.
    Last edited: Apr 17, 2018
  4. One

    One Well-Known Member
    UO:R Donor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4,011
    Likes Received:
    3,141
    I'm not sure about recently, but in the past I've noticed Chris tends to respond to IRC messages more proactively than he does to forum tags. If you really want the answer to this question I recommend waiting until he greets the IRC room then asking him there.

Share This Page