New player - Server questions

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by LeeUK, Mar 30, 2017.

1. LeeUK

LeeUK New Member

Good evening, or whatever time it is for you lol. I started playing here yesterday, I have been an on and off player for UO since pre-trammel days ( when I was a young clueless teen ) and have played a variety of official Shards up until they started fucking it up and after that, all kinds of free shards. The shard seems nice so far, it has an enjoyable simplicity to it that gives me a feel of old. I really like the New Player scheme you have going on too. However I noticed that I do have a delay, a bit of lag so to speak.

Living in England I did expect that I would not get a great ping here, but when I looked at my ping, I am getting between 165-190. I am not sure how viable I am going to be at PvP if I am one of the few players with such a shitty ping ( and the fact I haven't played any UO for a long time now lol ). Without naming the other shard, that I would certainly not rather play over this, I ping at about 110ms and that sounds right for a server on the East Coast.

Am I just unfortunate enough that this server is based further West into the USA, or is the server on the East Coast and just laggier for everyone? I guess if it's the former I can just my ping as an excuse everytime I get rekt.

Also, random question. does it matter what I am provoking at 76 real skill or can I carry on macro provoking the trolls and harpies in the occlo sewer place?

Thanks for any info :)
    Last edited: Mar 30, 2017
    wylwrk, Halabinder and Kiryana like this.
  2. PaddyOBrien

PaddyOBrien Well-Known Member

Welcome to the shard! Not sure about the ping, but several European players play here and seem to do fine in pvp.