New player

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by Felix Jaegar, Jan 29, 2014.

1. Felix Jaegar

Felix Jaegar Member

Hi guys,
    Obviously as the subject states im new to this server. I have not played ultima in a long time and found your server so thought i'd give it a go.
    Just a couple of newb questions.
    Is a dexxer best way to start?
    what are the best ways and places to train?
    Any safer dungeons to start in?

cheers in advance.
    Felix Jaegar
  2. Huzke

Huzke Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

Dexer isn't bad to start with, it's certainly easy anyway. If you want to get some more performance out of it for PvM I would suggest adding provocation and/or peacemaking to it. You can lock down mobs by spamming use skill peacemaking/last target over and over while you're beating on them and they will rarely hit you back. This will allow you to take down much much stronger single mobs as a dexer than you normally would and of course provocation for multiples.

I always start in Vesper whenever I have started on a new server in UO. I like the layout of the city, the only thing it really lacks is a stable, there is a cemetery on the road west of town, it's not far from Covetous to hit up the harpy room, gazers, elder gazers, etc as your character progresses, the Minoc Moongate and the city of Minoc are very close to Vesper as well.

If you do decide to start out in Vesper there's a vendor at the cemetery gate with super inexpensive starter kits for newbie dexers, cheap bandages, recall scrolls, and some helpful runebooks inside the shop with lower end hunting spawns, all city banks, all dungeon entrances, some other helpful locations, etc.