New to Renaissance, questions about PvP and the shard in general

Discussion in 'PvP Discussion' started by Clouds, Mar 17, 2015.

1. Clouds

Clouds New Member

Hello all,

I am new to this shard and I have not played UO in many years(98-02). I always had a lot of fun PvPing on OSI. I quit shortly after pub 16 as that release was the last straw for me. One of the things that attracted me to this server was the fact that the PvP seems to be mostly based around pre pub 16 UO:R. I had tried out UOF(uo forever) for a short time but I just couldn't get into that server. The PvP was essentially heavily based on post pub 16 combat and so I have moved here. I have really enjoyed my short time on Renaissance. I have decided to make it my UO home. I have been browsing the forums for info on the server and the community. Being someone who enjoys their PvM but gets the most enjoyment out of combat with other players, I naturally want to know how the PvP community is here. I have noticed that it seems like there are lots of options for the PvM minded individual but the PvP community at first glance of the forum threads and posts seems somewhat cliquey and not very open to newer players trying to break into the scene, especially after a long hiatus. I have seen some great threads about PvP training and what not but I have also seen a lot of negative posts concerning PvP here. From what I gather the PvPers here seem to sort of stick with their little cliques and don't seem to extend their hand outside of their little group of friends. Do any of the veteran and skilled PvPers here have interest in welcoming those that are interested in getting back into PvP? I know about the PvP university already but really only one guy welcoming others into the community and only 6 at a time at that isn't really going to get the ball rolling. I have two friends that I brought with me to this shard who are also going to get back into the fray. Any advice/suggestions are welcome on the best ways to