Problem with IRC Connection

Discussion in 'Server & Client Support' started by Gambriel, Aug 18, 2013.

1. Gambriel

Gambriel New Member

Hi. I don't know if this would go here since it isn't exactly an ingame issue, but well. I've been having trouble connecting to the IRC web chat. I downloaded the mIRC program but it has the same problem.

This is what I get everytime:

I searched a couple of hours in google looking for a solution, since I'm new to the game and being able to connect to the chat could be really useful (Specially after loosing al my mining day's work, like 20k, for logging off and leaving my pack horse behind :/).

Does anyone know what I could do? Theres one time that on top of that quote it said error 100053.

Thank you for reading.
  2. corruption

corruption Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

I don't see anything error-wise in there... are you doing the disconnecting? If you are, then its working as expected -- just type '/j #UOR' after you connect.
  3. Gambriel

Gambriel New Member

It ain't me. In the browser it keeps doing that.

And in the program mIRC at disconecting it says:

* [10053] Software caused connection abort.
    -
    * Disconected
    -
    * Connect retry #1 irc.chat4all.org (6667)

And starts again....
  4. Upgrayedd

Upgrayedd Renaissance Volunteers
    Renaissance Volunteers

The line "No ident response; username prefixed with ~" makes me think there may be something blocking your connection...a router or security software perhaps? Also, you can try connecting with a stand-alone program like mIRC or IceChat.
  5. corruption

Nah, ident is a daemon that is pretty well deprecated except in the case of IRC. At one point, it was used to confirm that the user was who they claimed they were, when all clients were run from a commandline -- mostly unix based. Its still in use, but the only thing it does is either append or not append a ~ to the username in the hostmask.