PvM Frustrations of a dexxer guild.

Discussion in 'Era Discussion' started by Melryn Moonstone, Sep 8, 2015.

1. Melryn Moonstone

Melryn Moonstone Active Member
    UO:R Donor

Disclaimer: I really like this shard, and i appreciate all the hard work. I just want to express my own opinion.

Background
    : I am guild-master of Dungeon Guards, a primarily dexxer based guild which focuses on dungeon hunts and helping new players. I have only been playing on this shard for a month but I have extensive experience playing as a dexxer.

Problem 1: Playing as a dexxer PvM on this shard is not very fun

I ran Dungeon Guards on the Second Age shard and had no problem keeping players playing as their dexxers. However here, most new guild members have switched to bards or tamers for PvM. I have been wondering why, and i have narrowed it down to these reasons.

1) Monsters poison way too much
    PvMing as a dexxer is an exercise in frustration as you are constantly poisoned. Bring any new player out of Occlo and as soon as they are poisoned they are finished. Fight a lich and you are poisoned several times per fight. All magical monsters love to cast poison way too often. Carrying 10s of cure potions to use on basic pvm is not really enjoyable or pratical for new players. Couple this with monsters healing and you have a frustrating experience.

2) Monster healing
    As mentioned above, fighting monsters that poison, you often need to back off to heal, but monsters are able to cast heal to heal themselves very quickly. Fighting a lich can be a battle to the death for a mid-skill dexxer player. You get poisoned, you back off, the monster starts healing itself and it feels like you are back to square one.

3) Spawns