Troubleshooting Razor & Client Problems

Discussion in 'Server & Client Support' started by Chris, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Common Causes of Random Crashes, Glitches, Disconnections
    This post will explore a variety of solutions for common UO client crashes. This is a list of best practices for issues free gameplay.

    Don't Use Smart CPU Usage Reduction
    • Causes: Razor Performance, Whitescreens, Crashes and Disconnections
      Affected Systems: All
      Solution:
    • Turn this option off, it was designed for older computers and does not work well when using multiple clients.
      [​IMG]

    Compatibility Mode, Run as Administrator
    • Causes: Variety of issues, toolbar data not showing, flickering, general issues
      Affected Systems: All
      Solution:
    • Find the razor icon on your desktop, right click on it and select properties.
    • Check the box marked "Run This program in compatibility mode".
    • Select Windows XP Service Pack 3 from the list.
    • In the Privilege Level section check the box for Run this program as an administrator.
    • Optional: Disable Visual Themes & Desktop Composition for improved performance.
      [​IMG]

    Disable User Account Control
    • Causes: Variety of Random Issues
      Affected Systems: Windows Vista and Newer
      Solution:
    • Disable this feature as it is outdated and provides no purpose other than alerting you to the fact, that you are installing or running a program.
    • Open your computers control panel and look for the User Accounts Section.
    • Click on "Charge User Account Control Settings"
    • Set it to never notify
      [​IMG]

    Exclude Ultima Online & Razor from your Antivirus/Software Firewall
    • Causes: Crashes, High Latency, Increased Ping Times
      Affected Systems: All Operating Systems
      Solution:
    • Depending on the type of antivirus software you have the method will vary.
    • Searching your anti virus software makers website for "Exclude Program" or "Exclude Folder" will get you to the right instructions.
    • Check the options section of your AV software for where to make this change.
    • When excluding folders add the following
      • C:\Ultima Online
      • C:\Program Files\Razor or C:\Program Files (x86)\Razor depending on your install.
    • When excluding files add the following
      • C:\Ultima Online\Client.exe
      • C:\Ultima Online\Client_noenc.exe
      • C:\Program Files\Razor\Razor.exe or C:\Program Files (x86)\Razor\razor.exe depending on your install.
      Example of Trend Micro Exclude Folder Screen.
      [​IMG]
      Example of an Error seen with Trend Micro when trying to play Ultima Online
      [​IMG]
    Dash likes this.
  2. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    "Razor was unable to locate and load a suitable UO Cliloc file. Some text may not be displayed."
    [​IMG]
    Cause: This error is caused by razor attempting to read a registry key that is missing on your system.

    Related Systems: Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2012

    Solution: You need to download or create a registry fix for your computer by following the instructions below.

    If you installed the UO:R client into the default "C:\Ultima Online" folder you can download the applicable file for your operating system.

    32 Bit system Registry Fix
    64 Bit system Registry Fix
    (Right Click, Save As, Place on your desktop)

    If you installed the client in a custom location make sure to edit the registry files to match that location. Pay attention to the file format when editing.

    Double click the file you downloaded and apply the changes to your registry.
    [​IMG]
    If you have 32-bit Windows XP/Vista/7, use:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Origin Worlds Online\Ultima Online\1.0]
    "ExePath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO\\client.exe"
    "InstCDPath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO"
    "Upgraded"="Yes"
    "StartExePath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO\\uo.exe"
    "PatchExePath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO\\uopatch.exe"
    
    If you have 64-bit Windows XP/Vista/7, use:
    Code:
    Windows Registry Editor Version 5.00
    
    [HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SOFTWARE\Wow6432Node\Origin Worlds Online\Ultima Online\1.0]
    "ExePath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO\\client.exe"
    "InstCDPath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO"
    "Upgraded"="Yes"
    "StartExePath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO\\uo.exe"
    "PatchExePath"="C:\\Path\\To\\UO\\uopatch.exe"
    
    To find out what operating system you have find your my computer icon, right click it and select properties. You should see a window similar to this.
    [​IMG]
  3. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Ultima Online and Razor Crash Immediately when Opening

    [​IMG] [​IMG]
    Cause: This can happen when trying to run Ultima with and without razor. This error is caused by the data execution prevention service.

    Related Systems: Windows Vista, Windows 7, Windows 8, Windows Server 2008, Windows Server 2012

    Solution: You need to exclude Ultima Online from the DEP service.

    Step 1. Open up your computers advanced system settings. Click on the advanced tab and then click on the performance settings button.
    [​IMG]

    Step 2. Select the Data Execution Prevention tab and click Add..
    [​IMG]

    Step 3. Browse to the C:\Ultima Online Folder and select the Client.exe and the Client_noenc.exe files.
    [​IMG]

    Once both are added close the performance settings and attempt to load Ultima. You should now be able to load Ultima Online with and without razor.
  4. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    "Error Cliloc.enu not found when loading razor, Random Crashes "
    Cause: This is caused by the way that various newer operating systems handle installations in the Program Files and Program Files (x86) folders.

    Related Systems: Windows Vista, Windows 7

    Solution: You need to relocate your Ultima Online installation into a non protected folder.
    Option A.
    • Download and install the complete UO:Renaissance client package found here.
    • Follow the installation steps that you can find here
    • This should resolve the problem by installing Ultima Online into the correct folder.
    Option B.
    • Step 1: Navigate to the folder you installed UO into. Most likely C:\Program Files (x86)\Ultima Online
      Step 2. Right click on the folder and select cut.
      Step 3. Navigate to your C:\Program Files\ folder.
      Step 4. Paste the Ultima Online folder into the C:\Program Files\ folder.
      Step 5. Open razor and update the client to match this picture.
      [​IMG]
  5. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Odd Graphical Glitches, Colors
    • [​IMG]
      Cause: This can be caused by a damaged installation or more likely an incorrect setting in the UO options.

      Related Systems: All Systems

      Solution:
    • While ingame hit the Alt Key and O to open the UO options screen.
    • Click on the button that looks like an Eye
    • Find the checkbox for "Switch to 565 Color Mode"
    • Make sure this option is set to false.
    • This should resolve the problem. If it doesn't, try re-installing the UOR client
      [​IMG]
    Last edited: Jan 31, 2015
  6. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    UO Window is minimized or offscreen and cannot be seen
    • Cause: This is caused by razor saving a bad screen position for your UO window. Very common on multiple monitor systems, or systems that have the resolution adjusted.

      Related Systems: Windows Vista, 7, 8. Possibly more.

      Solution 1 - Keyboard Trick
      Press the Alt Key + Enter Key at the same time twice.
      This should attempt to make the UO Client fullscreen then normal which reenters it on your main monitor. ​

      Solution 2 - Keyboard Trick
      Press the Alt Key + SpaceBar at the same.
      This will bring up the properties window for the Ultima Client, even hidden.
      Select Maximize or Restore and this should fix the window. ​

      Solution 3- Maximize the minimized window:
      • This can take a bit of work, but if you hover over your task bar, you can get the ultima window to show up.
        Clicking on it normally will not help.
        Right click on the UO window as shown in the picture below and select "Maximize"
        If this is not an option, try Minimize and then Maximize, or Restore.
        This should restore the window to your main screen.
        Make sure to log out of UO properly and make sure razor is closed. This should update the screen position and resolve the problem.
        [​IMG]

      Solution 4 - Use a Uility:
      • You can also use a special utility to force a minimized or offscreen window to your main screen.
        Download the "ForceWindowVisible" application shown here.
        Force Window Visible Util
        Run this utility and look for your ultima online client as shown in the picture below.
        Using a combination of clicking on it, and solution 1 shown above you should be able to restore the lost window.
        [​IMG]

      Solution 5 - Edit your razor profile:
      • Find your way to your profile folder. Typing %appdata% into the search box is the best method.
        Otherwise C:\Users\Username\AppData\Roaming\
        [​IMG]
        Find and open the razor folder.
        Find and open the profiles folder.
        Find an open the profile you are having problems with.
        Make 100% sure Ultima and Razor is closed for this step.
        Right click and choose open with Notepadd++ or Notepad.
        [​IMG]
        Find the 2 values WindowX, and WindowY and edit them slightly.
        The values you should have will vary depending on your monitor configuration
        However they should be positive numbers between 0 and 500 for each.
        Tinker with the values until you can open razor and log in without the UO window disappearing.
        [​IMG]
    Last edited: Sep 11, 2014
    Starmap likes this.
  7. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Blank Skill List Ingame
    [​IMG]
    • Cause: This can be caused by a corrupt profile, or damaged skillgrp.mul file located in your Ultima Online Installation.

      Related Systems: All

      Solution:
      • Make sure to log out of ultima before attempting this fix.
        Navigate to the folder that you installed Ultima Online into. Most likely C:\Ultima Online.
        Find the desktop folder.
        Find the folder showing the affected account name.
        Select the UO Renaissance Folder
        Select a character whos skill list is showing correctly.
        Copy the skillgrp.mul found in this folder.
        Back up one folder.
        Open the characters folder that has a blank skillgrp.mul.
        Paste the copied file, overwrite the existing one.
        This should resolve the problem. If it does not, you might go ahead and delete this characters whole folder.
  8. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Force Razor Resolution Does not Work
    Razor_Res_1.jpg
    Cause: This is a common problem on 64 bit systems and can be caused by several factors but most likely the installation location.

    Related Systems: All Systems, 64 Bit Systems

    Solution:
    • Right click your razor icon, select the compatibility tab and make sure the following options are set properly
      Make sure compatibility mode is set to windows XP Sp3, and Run as administrator is checked.
      Razor_Res_3.jpg
      While ingame toggle the force resolution option in razor while hitting the apply button in the options screen.
      If this does not help try one of the following.
      Locate your razor folder location. Right clicking on the shortcut should show you where it is currently. Most likely in C:\Program Files\Razor
      Find and move the razor folder to the C:\Program Files (x86)
      Update your razor shortcut to reflect the new location.
      Razor_Res_2.jpg
      If that doesn't help try re-installing razor from the website.
      http://www.uorenaissance.com/downloads/Razor_Latest.exe
    Starmap, Zavgard and Vlar like this.
  9. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Reserved
  10. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Reserved
  11. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Reserved
  12. tim moore

    tim moore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    in the display counters of razor im trying to change my bandage counter color i entered ~0000ff {bandage} ~#~ it changes but when timer starts it turns back to that orange i can not see on my screen and when timer done goes back to that color as a dot how do i make the actually countdown of the timer stay a color please help ive spent alot time researching before im asking here thank you
  13. Chris

    Chris Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff

    Joined:
    May 14, 2012
    Messages:
    3,385
    Likes Received:
    6,195
    Your syntax looks correct, however it sounds like your theme in windows is possibly making it hard to see. Have you tried adjusting your color scheme via the themes window so you can see the text?

    It's possible that you might not be able to color the bandage timer since its a processed value.

    Also here is a link to our razor guide which might be helpful as well

    http://www.uorenaissance.com/list/Razor/P
  14. tim moore

    tim moore New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2015
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    1
    oh thanks for response, i see what your saying the windows bar where the stuff is displayed is a off blue color . im try to change color of that bar .
  15. TheBreadman

    TheBreadman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2015
    Messages:
    54
    Likes Received:
    35
    UO Window title bar has Chinese text.

    chinese text1.PNG
    chinese text 2.PNG

    Cause: This is caused by teamviewer adding a icon onto the title bar or a missing English identification in uo.cfg.

    Related Systems: Windows Vista, 7, 8. Possibly more.

    Solution 1 - Disable Teamview Quick Startbutton
    Click the icon on bar
    Select disable text down bottom


    action.PNG

    Disable it fully (tried single application but failed to get it to disable)

    disable.PNG

    Quick connect can also be found at.

    Options → Advanced → Show advanced options → QuickConnect button → Configure and uncheck Show QuickConnect button.


    Solution 2 - Config change


    Navigate to C:\Ultima Online or, where UO is installed,
    Locate file, UO.cfg,
    Find and change the setting UserLanguageCodeString to UserLanguageCodeString=ENU
    If there is no UserLanguageCodeString then add UserLanguageCodeString=ENU on a new line.





    El Horno likes this.
  16. Chill

    Chill New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2015
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    8
    Here's the issue...

    Everytime I login I have to re-do all my in game hotkeys. They show, but they just don't work. Most are on my numpad. For example the macro will say num 7 - ebolt. When i press it, the number 7 shows up in game but no spell. Num Lock is on. When i delete the macros and try to remake them now they just say regular 7 as opposed to num 7. All the while numlock is on. Both client and razor are running as admin. I have no razor profiles. Any fixes for this?

    Again, you shouldnt have to re-make your hotkeys EVERY time you login.
  17. Everlast

    Everlast Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    379
    I just bought a computer with Windows 10. The first few times I played there was no problem.
    I had my work IT guy try to set Windows 10 to be able to log in to my work desktop and use two screens but he was unable to make that work. He said I would need Windows Enterprise at work for the dual screens to work remote. I bring this up because the only thing that happened to this brand new computer between UO working and now it not working was that.
    Now.. Razor starts fine, but when the UO client comes up, the screen will blank quickly then the UO window will be greyish and unresponsive, then it disappears, then comes back on but without the windows window around it - like where you see Min Max X - is not there. Then when I load UO all the way, the game goes to fullscreen mode.
    I do not have the game set to run in full screen mode.
    I do run it as administrator and do run both razor and uo client on compatibility mode Windows XP, I forget which service pack.

    Any thoughts or suggestions is appreciated!

    Thanks,
    EV1
  18. Everlast

    Everlast Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    379
    FYI - My Windows 10 computer came with an Nvidia GeForce GTX 745. I went to Nvidia's website, downloaded and installed the latest drivers, everything's good now. Razor / UO Client runs like a champ now - using Windows XP Service Pack ?? compatibility mode of course.
    Zyler likes this.
  19. Deas Gu Cath

    Deas Gu Cath Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    25
    Having some issues with Razor that started this past week. When opening Razor it freezes on "Retrieving most recent profile" on the splash screen. When this happens it shows 100% HDD usage in my task manager and freezes my computer. If I leave it long enough it will eventually load UO and work fine (10-20+ minutes), but this doesn't always work.

    I've tried all of the suggested fixes in this thread, as well as a clean reinstall of Razor (haven't reinstalled UO). I've checked my HDD for errors, malware, and viruses.

    System Specs:
    Windows 10 Home
    Processor: AMD FX-8370 Eight-Core Processor
    16GM RAM
    64-bit Operating System, x64-based processor

    All drivers are up to date (and weren't updated within the past month).
  20. Everlast

    Everlast Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    626
    Likes Received:
    379
    Do you run uo and razor in compatibility mode and as administrator? Could also be a conflict between a setting in razor and your system.. Did you change any system settings in razor or uo lately?

Share This Page