UOR + wine (linux / mac / windows xD / whatever)

Discussion in 'Server & Client Support' started by torindel, Dec 11, 2013.

  1. torindel

    torindel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    * Install wine (that depends on your distribution/system operating)
    * Install winetricks script (http://winetricks.org/winetricks)
    > Linux version:
    > Use your package manager, read your distribution docs if you dont know how/what it is.

    > Mac version:
    > The basic steps are:
    > - Install X11 of some type
    > - Install Xcode and Apple's Command Line Developer Tools
    > - Install and update MacPorts
    > - Use MacPorts to install Wine and winetricks

    * Setup new wine prefix: (just click ok)
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 winecfg

    * Dotnet setup to get razor working:
    Get MS dotnet20 (agree, next, next, next finish)
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 winetricks dotnet20
    >wine-1.7.11 and later (dotnet20 doesnt work)< WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 winetricks dotnet20sp2
    Get MS gdiplus lib (used by dotnet)
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 winetricks gdiplus

    * Install downloaded client (save to ~/.wine/uor/drive_c)
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\UO_Renaissance_Client_Full.exe"

    * Run like so (use either one)
    cd ~/.wine/uor/drive_c/Ultima\ Online; WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\Ultima Online\client_noenc.exe"
    OR
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\Program Files\Razor\Razor.exe"

    * What to do if running razor reports: "This Razor installation is corrupted."
    - download http://www.runuo.com/files/razor/Razor_Latest.exe to ~/.wine/uor/drive_c and run (installing into default directory replacing previous razor):
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\Razor_Latest.exe"

    * On other razor problems close it and try starting again.

    Note:
    - use prefix like in guide (saves a lot of problems later if you want to get more apps which requires diffrent things to get it working right (like diffrent dotnet or uncompatible dll overrides), plus it gives you clean registry/enviroment for each app)
    - winearch is required (at least for wine compiled with win64 support)
    - Mac users: creating shortcut: open Automator and choose to make an application. the application should consist of the following single 'run shell script' action WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\Program Files\Razor\Razor.exe" save the application anywhere you want. double-clicking on it will execute your command and launch it.

    Tested and working with wine-1.7.4 on Wed Dec 11 18:12:13 CET 2013.
    Tested and working with wine-1.7.11 on Sat Jan 25 07:29:32 CET 2014.
    Wulfgang and Mordechai like this.
  2. draches

    draches New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2013
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Excellent!

    It works great on my Ubuntu 13.10 out of the box installation.

    I had some trouble installing dotnet20 which were fixed after installing Wine from the PPA instead of the default repositories.
  3. Walisin

    Walisin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you for the comprehensive instructions! I would have one or two related questions, if you don't mind.

    Do you happen to know whether Razor is in any way required to run UO in a Linux environment, besides removing client encryption? If at all possible, I really prefer running a stock client..
    On that note, it would also be good to know whether commands like [bandself, [blowpouch etc. work on this server, even though that doesn't quite belong in this thread.

    Your help is really appreciated!
  4. torindel

    torindel New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2013
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    2
    * Run like so (use either one)
    cd ~/.wine/uor/drive_c/Ultima\ Online; WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\Ultima Online\client_noenc.exe" <= thats without razor, and uor provides patched client already.
    If you want to run razor less you can skip all dotnet things.

    As for custom commands nope, you can get that either from razor, or make simple stock uo macros for binding to key and there is BandageSelf action there, as for pouches you're out of luck (unless you want and are able to keep single traped pouch as last object all the time - then you could use LastObject action)
  5. Walisin

    Walisin Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    55
    Likes Received:
    5
    Thank you, torindel.. that's good and bad news all at once.

    It's really excellent service to provide a custom client which doesn't require Razor to connect, but it's just not an even playing field without [commands for at least pouches, potions and equip.
    The odd thing being: I'm 98% certain there was no macro option for bandages with the original client? I remember using "LastObject" macros for those on production shards. This seems to be confirmed by Blaise mentioning the option in the UOR-client was not functional (at the time). 'had a similar issue on the last free-shard I played, with either the [bandself or [bandage command being lost in transition.

    This doesn't really belong in your guide, though, so I'll try to find a better place for bringing up the suggestion. Given there are some other custom commands, the Devs may not be opposed.
    Many thanks again, and I hope to catch up in-game soon(ish)!
  6. Pork Fried Rice

    Pork Fried Rice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    963
    I've managed to get UO and Razor installed. UO works great on my Ubuntu 14.04 box, but when I run UO+Razor, the client freezes after entering my login details and hitting enter. I don't even get to the shard list.

    My guess is that Razor is trying to create a file/folder within the AppData/Roaming folder but is unable to find that location (this is a total shot in the dark, I'm a Linux newbie)

    Has anyone encountered and overcome this issue?
  7. corruption

    corruption Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2013
    Messages:
    602
    Likes Received:
    256
    Sounds like you don't have dotnet2 installed. Run the following commands:

    Code:
    winetricks corefonts 
    winetricks vcrun6
    winetricks dotnet20
    winetricks fontfix
    
    ...and try launching again. The path you list isn't actually a real path -- its a virtual pointer for Windows for how to get to user information. Wine emulates this functionality, so despite %appdata% not being an accessible path in linux, the Windows functionality in Wine will still let it perform its tasks precisely as designed to do on a Windows system. The %appdata% directory in windows is in actuality a pointer to the directory C:\Users\<Current Username>\AppData -- which physically exists -- Windows just understands that a pathname of %appdata% means this location.
  8. Pork Fried Rice

    Pork Fried Rice Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2014
    Messages:
    888
    Likes Received:
    963
    Thanks Corruption!
  9. Ghetto Mr Bob

    Ghetto Mr Bob New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2014
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've got this currently working in Linux but do have one question:

    Is anyone able to get the display counters from razor to display in the window bar? I know it has to do with Wine's emulation as it does the same thing in OS X.
  10. Mordechai

    Mordechai Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2014
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    97
    I just followed this guide and I wanted to say that it worked well. I'm currently using Mint Linux 13 with xfce on an older machine and Ultima Online runs better on it than it did with the Windows Vista operating system that was originally on the machine.

    I've heard that there is a fix out there somewhere for UOAM and I'll post here again if I can find it.

    EDIT:

    Faster Performance (credit goes to the Linux page on wiki.secondage.com)
    • Disable Razor "Use smart CPU usage reduction" while you play, it causes additional lag on Wine
    • Enable "Reduce display framerate" in UO settings to improve mouse responsiveness if you play in high resolution and you have any mouse lag, the only thing this affects is the framerate of dragging gumps
    • Always have "Run mouse in a separate thread" enabled
    • To macro efficiently using the least amount of CPU resources, you can enable Razor CPU usage reduction with "Reduce display framerate" set in UO and finally resize your game window to a postage stamp and minimize it. This makes the game use less CPU cycles and on a Core 2 class CPU client.exe will use below 10% of CPU time at best.
    EDIT II:

    Enable Display Counters
    • Wine > Configure Wine > Graphics Tab > Uncheck 'Allow the window manager to control the windows'
    Last edited: Dec 28, 2014
    Wulfgang likes this.
  11. Atami Gonai

    Atami Gonai New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2016
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Confirmed working on Linux version 4.4.0-sabayon (root@andromeda.sabayon.org) (gcc version 4.9.3 (Gentoo Hardened 4.9.3 p1.1, pie-0.6.2) ) #1 SMP Sat Jun 25 18:17:52 UTC 2016



    For those who want to use UOAM:
    * Be sure to have the necessary MS packages:
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 winetricks dotnet20 dotnet40 corefonts vcrun6 vcrun2010 vcrun2013 fontfix

    * Install UOAM 8.2.0.1
    Extract UOAM 8.2.0.1 to ~/.wine/uor/drive_c/Program\ Files/UOAM/
    Run with
    WINEPREFIX=~/.wine/uor WINEARCH=win32 wine "C:\Program Files\UOAM\uoam.exe" -q
  12. Wulfgang

    Wulfgang Member

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2017
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    29
    this works perfect on a debian 8 fresh installation!

Share This Page