WW or Dragon

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by mafghine, Oct 1, 2014.

1. mafghine

mafghine Active Member

New to taming, age old question I would guess. White Wrym or Dragon?
  2. Aya

Aya Active Member

I am kind of new to taming myself...But, I do believe in most cases you are going to go with a dragon.
    In some eras of UO, Wyrms were better for certain spawns...I do not know if that is the case here...
  3. Blaise

Blaise Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

As I understand it, fresh WWs are tougher than fresh Dragons and once trained, the opposite is true. I don't know how well that actually pans out as I've never tested.

What I can say though, is that WWs have a faster movement speed (Silver Serpent Speed) and a faster melee, if they have good Dexterity. Their max Dex is 25 points higher (130) than a dragon or nightmare (105).

Versus mobs with higher resistance to magic, I think this can play a big role in effectiveness but can't say for certain without testing. Former staff here claimed that WWs were best versus PKs because of their speed.
  4. Xegugg

Xegugg Well-Known Member

I play with a dragon and a white wyrm, I like it.
  5. Dalavar

Dalavar Well-Known Member

I prefer Dragons all around. They listen better, you can train them up, etc.

I haven't noticed a movement speed difference, but for chasing PKs, that's rather irrelevant I think. I prefer firebreathers for this purpose, since it's un-resistable and can be up to around 105 damage with a full health pair of dragons and nightmare (not to mention potential spells and melee they might happen to hit with.
  6. Deacon

Deacon Well-Known Member

I did a lot of testing in the early days of UOR when I was playing my tamer a lot more regarding WW vs. Dragons, assuming no major changes have occurred either pet I would say that dragons are much more powerful. However the WW does have benefits, I've put a little list of pros/cons to WW's/Dragons below:

White Wyrms
    Pros