Yet another Mindblast thread...

Discussion in 'Era Discussion' started by Chill, Dec 15, 2015.

1. Chill

Chill New Member

Ok, so I've been on this server for two weeks now. Every player has their niche, enjoys playing in there own way. The way i enjoy playing is PvP/Dueling. I've been playing this way in depth since 1998. You could say i'm an expert at magery mechanics having spent many hours a day, for years practing and mastering. I've played on many different shards, UOR era always being my favorite. I quickly realized that the standard 90str 35 dex and 100 int for Mages was easy prey for the vicious fifth circle spell, Mindblast. What I witnessed that a quick, low mana spell did more damage than the supposed highest damage circle 7 spell Flamestrike. Flamestrike takes significantly more mana and time to cast, yet does less dmg than a mindblast with a player with "universal" standard mage stats. Let me point out mindblast is a fifth circle spell.

With that being said, i immediately changed my stats to this shard's standard 90 45 90. I go back to 5x dueling( mage dueling) to find that if a poison is resisted and you recast it, high probability you won't have enough mana to finish of another competent player. Intelligence is the bread and butter of mage dueling. Take a chunk of that away and it's like two knights jousting in wheelchairs. What I don't understand for the life of me, having played OSI in this era I don't remember mindblast being this imbalanced. There's no way this is era accurate. Minblast was designed for players who went 100 - 25- 100 . It should do ebolt damage TOPS for being a 5th circle spell on someone with a terrible build. I've adapted to the server by changing my stats to fit the status quo but i strongly think this is not era accurate and balanced.
    ArkNemesis and Pithon like this.
  2. Mes

Mes Well-Known Member

It is era accurate.

The formula for expected damage as it was on osi in this era: