Your pet cannot bond with you until your animal taming ability has risen....

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by compsays, Jan 23, 2018.

  1. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    Asked on IRC - no answer.

    Searched on here - no answer.

    Googled - no answer.

    So.

    Been working on my first ever tamer. Got him up to 79.7 (displayed taming; GM Animal Lore).

    Found and successfully tamed my first frienzied ostard. Calmed it down (eventually) and "All good" "All follow me" and fed it (some meat, after a kind soul on IRC told me apples wasn't the way forward - who knew that frenzieds aren't vegan? :D).

    When I fed it the meat, I got the "Your pet looks happier" message. Then I got the above message:

    "Your pet cannot bond with you until your animal taming ability has risen." o_O

    Now, as I understand it, taming ability = bonding ability. If I can tame the critter, I should be able to bond with it, right?

    Bug? Or am I still missing something obvious?

    Cheers in advance.
  2. Ahirman

    Ahirman Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    845
    Has it been 24 hours since you fed it?

    If you lore it, it will tell you on the last page if it's ready/can bond with you.
  3. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    Nah, only tamed it about an hour ago. But the error message.........?
  4. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    "You should try feeding your pet to begin to bond with it".

    Feed it. "Your pet looks happier".

    My old friend the message: "Your pet cannot form a bond with you until your animal taming ability has risen."
  5. Ahirman

    Ahirman Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    845
    I've never seen that message and have bonded with frenzieds with lower taming. maybe it was tamed and released and you re-tamed it causing it to have a higher bonding requirements. that would be a bug for sure.
  6. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    Cheers for your thoughts, Ahlrman. I'll see what happens overnight ITT.

    EDIT: actually, if it was previously tamed and released, it's taming ability would've been at least 83.1, so I couldn't have tamed it with 79.9 (displayed).

    So that can't be it :(
  7. Ahirman

    Ahirman Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,033
    Likes Received:
    845
    that's true, I don't know what to tell you. maybe @Keza might know. He's tamed/bonded lots of those!
  8. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    Morning bump. Just tamed my second one.

    Exactly the same story.

    Anyone?
  9. Hoominaga

    Hoominaga Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    You need to stable/have pets for 24 hours before they'll bond, you can't tame something and instantly bond it. Has 24 hours passed since you tamed/stabled the first one and tried to bond it?
  10. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    Nope, that's my next thing to try @Hoominga. I'll fetch it out of the stable in 7 hours or so and see what happens then.
  11. Hoominaga

    Hoominaga Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2016
    Messages:
    1,465
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    That's pretty much the main requirement for bonding... besides having bond slots available. You can't tame things and instantly bond it.
  12. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    Yep. Please note I wasn't trying to bond with it, specifically, I just thought you needed to feed before you stabled and started the timer. We'll see what happens later. :)
  13. El Horno

    El Horno Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2014
    Messages:
    3,597
    Likes Received:
    4,807
    Ya I have never seen that message, nor heard about it. Very strange indeed.
  14. Smash

    Smash Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2017
    Messages:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    851
    does bonding work off of real skill or shown skill?

    perhaps your shown skill is high enough to tame but your real skill isnt high enough to bond?
  15. Roach

    Roach New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2017
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    14
    Easiest solution would be to have whoever has access to the source code to look up where that error message originates from. Sorry I can't be of more assistance.
    compsays likes this.
  16. compsays

    compsays Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Feb 20, 2017
    Messages:
    364
    Likes Received:
    139
    This looks like the answer. Now my taming is a bit higher, it's fine. Strange anomaly there though eh.

    Thanks to all who responded.
  17. Zathuel

    Zathuel Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2017
    Messages:
    195
    Likes Received:
    39
    Bonding works on real skill, I couldn’t bond my mare till real was high enough to tame

Share This Page