Question

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by Qex Yario, Nov 12, 2013.

1. Qex Yario

Qex Yario New Member

What is the problem with Trammel?

I know this is a Renaissance Era shard, and I do love it's current set up, but I never understood the Free shards hatered of Trammel.

I started playing UO when it first came out, I remember us having a guild before there were guild stones, back then guilds identified themselves by dress. we later build a guild of over 300 members, that spained 5 shards, we were the Lands End Guild, ( ZZ ) was our tag.

Now understand I'm not here to request a change at all to this shard, for which I'm falling love with, I truly enjoy the shard, enjoy the others I have met, and enjoy the aspect of the game that I had many of years ago fallen in love with. I do plan to re-build our guild here and have some close personnel friends that will be joining us here, but as a person who played this game since it's creation I do know a few things , some facts about Ultima Online.

I have seen statements about what killed UO, most claim it was the Renaissance patch that brought forth Trammel, statements that it killed the player aspect, killed the guild setting.

but the truth.

The OSI patch of Ultima Online: Renaissance actually increased account membership 10x, guild size double and the number of guilds tripled. OSI saw a 100 profit increase 3 months after the launch of the Renaissance patch, which was the highest rated profit development of online membership gains.

But what killed UO? simple answer, OSI greed. Garret himself ( the orginal concept developer of Ultima Online " Lord Brittish" ) stated this in 2007.