ClassicUO: An open source Ultima Online Classic Client

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by Quick, Aug 5, 2019.

  1. Ubo

    Ubo Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2019
    Messages:
    607
    Likes Received:
    314
    @Quick how does this run on Mac?
  2. LCH

    LCH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    142
    is this the crash log?

    ClassicUO [dev] - v0.1.2.357
    OS: Win32NT x64
    Thread: CUO_MAIN_THREAD
    Exception:
    System.BadImageFormatException: Interface not registered
    Failed to find proxy registration for IID: {EA1EA136-19DF-11D7-A6D2-00065B84435C}.
    at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.ThrowExceptionForHRInternal(Int32 errorCode, IntPtr errorInfo)
    at System.Runtime.InteropServices.Marshal.FreeHGlobal(IntPtr hglobal)
    at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Audio.DynamicSoundEffectInstance.Update()
    at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.FrameworkDispatcher.Update()
    at ClassicUO.Engine.Tick() in c:\projects\classicuo\src\Engine.cs:line 681
    at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.SDL2_FNAPlatform.RunLoop(Game game)
    at Microsoft.Xna.Framework.Game.Run()
    at ClassicUO.Engine.Run(String[] args) in c:\projects\classicuo\src\Engine.cs:line 324
    at ClassicUO.Bootstrap.Main(String[] args) in c:\projects\classicuo\src\Main.cs:line 35
  3. Quick

    Quick Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    992
    Yes, that's it.

    When do you get this error? Randomly or after you do something?
  4. LCH

    LCH Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2018
    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    142
    sorry i cant remember...
  5. nilmer

    nilmer Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2018
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    153
    When you make your play window larger, does it let you see when monsters/players enter the screen from the full distance?

    would be very helpful to be able to see someone from that far away
  6. Jebus Bojangles

    Jebus Bojangles Member
    UO:R Donor

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2015
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    45
    The view distance is controlled by the code, not the size of the window. I BELIEVE the maximum view distance from your character is like 16 or 18 tiles.

    If you have the window open larger than that, you won't see entities until they are within that view distance.

    While it may look wierd, seeing terrain that far away can still provide some advantages.
    nilmer and Kiryana like this.
  7. Quick

    Quick Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    992
    Yep, what he said. The visible range is 18 tiles, so you can see that when you expand the window. That's why when you go to the event center, for example, it sort of pops in as you move around vs. it being part of the static map files.
    Last edited: Sep 27, 2019
    nilmer likes this.
  8. nebulos

    nebulos New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2019
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    What are the benefits of this new client?
  9. Jill Stihl

    Jill Stihl Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1,713
    Larger resolution possibilities, much higher frame rates, various quality of life options and more.

    Most who have tried it have stuck with it.
    Blacklow, gitchu1000 and Valient like this.
  10. Ron Jeremy

    Ron Jeremy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2014
    Messages:
    1,729
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    I love the old school UO of the day, this new ones cool but ruins the nostalgia of the game for me :/
    Kiryana likes this.
  11. Quick

    Quick Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    992
    Updated the original post to include steps on how to use UOAM with ClassicUO

    Thanks to @Miatrio for finding the workaround!
    Holden, Andrakus and Jill Stihl like this.
  12. Jill Stihl

    Jill Stihl Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2017
    Messages:
    1,219
    Likes Received:
    1,713
    Finally got this set up properly and it's very impressive.

    Couple of small issues I'm having -

    - I have to open, resize and relocate the world map at every log in. Is there a way to get this to save the setting?

    - Auto search new containers isn't searching my reg bag on log in. Does seem to work fine for bags I pick up though.

    - Each client running is putting two tabs on my task bar. Classic UO and the client. Is it possible to have the Classic UO tab minimize to the system tray? It's getting a little crowded.

    Minor stuff, but any advice appreciated.

    Thanks folks.
  13. Quick

    Quick Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    992
    - Not at the moment, the map feature still needs to be expanded.
    - Known issue, you need to manually open to the bag for it it count. It doesn't auto-loot in bags like Razor does.
    - You can run the beta version, and not get two windows per client. The dev preview has that, as its needed for updating and other stuff.

    If you use Windows 10, you can toss them on another virtual desktop (I do this sometimes) to hide them. It's a good workaround and virtual desktops are awesome.

    https://www.howtogeek.com/197625/how-to-use-virtual-desktops-in-windows-10/
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2019
    Miatrio and Jill Stihl like this.
  14. Orome

    Orome Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2016
    Messages:
    604
    Likes Received:
    302
    Quick, this is amazing. Thank you for your efforts
  15. r3ckon3r

    r3ckon3r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    279
    Hi @Quick, I think I already posted a response for this amazing work, but I did so in the launcher thread.

    When I play UO, I simply have to have the music running in the background. What I've noticed on here is that when you enter a certain town or city (Vesper for example), the music for that place will run, but if you recall out somewhere, let's say to your house, the Vesper music will keep on looping until you go elsewhere again.

    Additionally, the only 'overland' music that seems to be present for me is oldult01, it doesn't seem to vary these tracks. Are you aware of this? Any available fixes?

    Thanks again for your truly groundbreaking work.
    Buga likes this.
  16. ExMachina

    ExMachina Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    5
    Hi @Quick, İ'm really thankful for this great job. Before explain the bug i realize , must tell you that i'm not native speaker so sorry for gramatic mistakes.
    İ figure it out that champions virtues cant actived at the clasic client. İs this bug only about me? i dont know but when i try it with normal client, it' works. Maybe you can check it or anyone else.
    Also the client is amazing.
  17. Quick

    Quick Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    992
    Music is actually driven by the server. When you enter a region, if that region is setup to play music, it will tell the client to play whatever the song is. However when you leave a region and go to another one without specific music set, it will just play the last long.

    Though I wonder if it looping forever until you go to a new region is probably something it shouldn't do.
  18. Quick

    Quick Renaissance Staff
    Renaissance Staff
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2018
    Messages:
    520
    Likes Received:
    992
    It should work, what isn't working? Is the gump not coming up at all?
  19. ExMachina

    ExMachina Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2019
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    5
    @Quick The gump doesnt coming up yeah. The cursor doenst show the target and the virtues page still stay there. Should i resetup the client?
    But also i downloaded the client another file, to open second client. Maybe i should open only once for virtues?
  20. r3ckon3r

    r3ckon3r Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2014
    Messages:
    533
    Likes Received:
    279
    Are you saying this is the design of the music on your client, or historically on the OSI client? Reason I ask is because on the OSI client UOR used before this one (this is as far back as my brain recalls), even if you remained in a town, once that respective music ended (vesper, again, for example), the oldult tracks would loop over and over until you went to another region either by recalling/gating there, or walking to the trigger spot.

    Also @Quick I updated my client yesterday and I've noticed the music doesn't play at all now, expect for the launcher music if checked. Are you aware of any issues?

Share This Page