D&D Ultima Online Character Builder and Adventure

Discussion in 'Guides' started by Adam_Olini, Feb 27, 2020.

1. Adam_Olini

Adam_Olini New Member

Hi guys, I am an old UO veteran, and I hop on this server every so often. In the last year, I started playing D&D as a player and a DM. As a UO veteran, i've always looked for new ways to play the game, and I do enjoy roleplaying. I searched and searched for someone who had already written a guide like this before, but I couldn't find it. I guess I was going to be that person tonight. This is a rough draft, and has not been put to the test YET. I rolled an example warrior throughout this journey, but I will make my official character sometime this weekend. Maybe by then, some of you will review and critique what I wrote.

A. Rolling Stats:
    1. Use dice or a dice roller to roll a 3d10 (3 ten-sided dice).
    2. Discard any roll with a combined total below 8 and above 22.
    3. Multiply each die x 10 and assign it to a stat of your choice.

Example:
    * I rolled a 9, 9, and 3. They have a combined total of 21, so its okay (and a damn good roll).
    * I assign them to my stats as 90 str / 90 dex / 30 int

B. Skill Limits:
    * You may use raise skills that you "learn" to a maximum level according to your stats and classification of a skill. This would be the base or real value for a skill. Your total skill points may still reach 700 no matter what.

Example:
    * Swordsmanship is a strength based skill. I have 90 strength. So I can raise my swordsmanship to a maximum of 90.

C. Skill Classification:
    * Many skills are a mix of stats, so I tried to align them to one stat or another. It may not be perfect, but makes some UO templates possible.

Strength Skills: Anatomy, Animal Taming, Armslore, Blacksmithy, Carpentry, Fishing, Herding, Lumberjacking, Mace Fighting, Mining, Resisting Spells, Swordsmanship, Tactics, Wrestling.