How to get hue # for an item

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by Raajaton, Aug 1, 2018.

  1. Raajaton

    Raajaton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    21
    Hey guys,

    My apologies if this is covered somewhere else already, but I'm curious how I can get the exact hue value for an item? I've heard whisperings that I could do it using the counter bar in Razor, but I tried to figure it out for a whole 90 seconds and couldn't figure it out.

    For the record, I don't think I have anything particularly cool worth checking at the moment. I just see people posting things on the trade forums with specific hue numbers and I scratch my head on how they get it.

    -SumNoob
  2. Mykos

    Mykos Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2013
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    162
    Get a decorating tool from a real estate vendor. double click it and select details then target the item
  3. Raajaton

    Raajaton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    21
    Ooooh ok awesome! Thanks for the prompt reply. I'll give it a shot tonight.
  4. Kash

    Kash Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2017
    Messages:
    209
    Likes Received:
    96
    That works for most things (stuff in your inventory, paperdoll, nearby ground or container).

    In order to tell the Hue of things other people are wearing there is a small razor trick. Display/Counters tab, click the Add button, then the Target button in the menu that pops up. Using the in game target on someone else's paperdoll clothing will show the Hue in the Color field of that window. Can be cancelled out after that as you aren't actually adding a counter.
  5. Raajaton

    Raajaton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    21
    Someone had mentioned that method to me before, however I was having some trouble with the Razor method. When I clicked on the Target button, I wasn't actually getting a targeter in game. It does work in all other razor locations though (re-target on a macro, adding items to Scavenger / Organizer, etc).

    Maybe I was doing something wrong - I'll try it again later I guess.
  6. Pirul

    Pirul Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    May 16, 2013
    Messages:
    2,959
    Likes Received:
    2,205
    Make sure you're looking at the same client for the razor you opened (has happened to me before, I was putting up targets with one char's razor, but was looking at another char's window).
  7. Raajaton

    Raajaton Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2018
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    21
    That is entirely possible, and wouldn't be the first time I've done that myself.

    I'll double check tonight - thanks again for the suggestions everyone!

Share This Page