"Tamer Reconversion"

Discussion in 'Renaissance Discussion' started by AlexHell Slayer, Apr 20, 2019.

1. AlexHell Slayer

AlexHell Slayer Active Member

Hi! Since I started playing on this server almost... three months now, I noticed pure warriors have little use, unless they have provocation or something. So, I am thinking of converting my first toon (a warrior with parring, magery, and ressist) to something much more usefull... a tamer (so I do not steal my daughter's tamer anymore... plus she gets kind of angry when I change her dragon's names). My question is: how tedious / long is going from 30 animal taming to 50? I already trained her tamer from 50 to 100, so I know exactly what to expect... but as for 30 to 50... I don't think there is the "commodity" of an equivalent to bull pens. Those who did it... Would you say going from 30 to 50 is a pain in the ass... even worse than 30 to 50? I think I mostly need a word of encouragement to take the leap... the path seems to be lost lands -> Dagger Island -> Compassion... right? I guess last two I can somehow do it semi-afk. Any other tip?
    One and Miami like this.
  2. AlexHell Slayer

@Jill Stihl I just read on IRC you have a tamer dexxer, and think it is real fun. I woul not mind having low int, and having to use my kid's tamer for a while to provide my own with pets. What is your build?

@Jesus Is King I always see you go IronMan on IRC, right? It looks like you have a dexxer tamer too? If that is so, would you share your build?
  3. Jill Stihl

Jill Stihl Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

http://www.uorenaissance.com/player/1371462

^My guy.

50 magery is enough for recall/reflect off a scroll and opening camp chests. It'll also do gate scrolls with a few fizzles. I initially went with 30 magery and GM tactics but it was a pita. More magery would of course be nice but I wont drop more of the other skills to get it.

85 healing and vet obviously gives the odd fail but it feels pretty rare.