Troubleshooting Razor & Client Problems

Discussion in 'Server & Client Support' started by Chris, Feb 4, 2014.

  1. Deas Gu Cath

    Deas Gu Cath Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2016
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    16
    Yes to compatibility and Admin, and no to any system changes. I've tried a few different versions of Razor as well.
  2. yancar

    yancar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    Can anyone confirm that forcing the screen resolution thru razor options works with Windows 8?
  3. Everlast

    Everlast Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2015
    Messages:
    204
    Likes Received:
    143
    It works with Windows 10, no experience with 8.
  4. yancar

    yancar New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2016
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    8
    Okay so I figured out the issue, I had a previous razor directory in my D:\ and when I deleted that and reinstalled razor everything is working fine although I don't believe the reinstall was necessary, the previous razor directory must have been there from a couple years ago, regardless, it is working.
  5. Azerothian

    Azerothian Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    139
    Any ideas how I can stop my Razor macros leaving spurious "?" characters in my speech buffer? If there is a better place to ask this question, please let me know.
  6. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    3,205
    speech buffer?
  7. Azerothian

    Azerothian Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    139
    @wylwrk Speech buffer. That line of characters on your screen that *usually* you are typing and then your toon speaks it when you hit enter. In this case though Razor adds misc invisible characters or "?"s to the speech buffer that come out as "?" when you hit enter.
  8. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    3,205
    doesn't sound like a razor caused issue at all to me

    this sounds like an alternate language issue (likely japanese or chinese) coming from your game files or even rarely your machine

    does this happen all the time?

    if not, next time it does note the first two words or series of letters (from hotkeys)
  9. Azerothian

    Azerothian Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    139
    I was told it was Razor macros that were to blame. If I remember to backspace the blank or ? characters it is ok. It only happens when I have recently hotkeyed a razor macro.

    It happens a lot therefore.

    I do not understand your last sentence.
  10. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    3,205
    I'm not understanding you... especially your use of the word "buffer".

    Are you saying that you've hotkey'd letters/numbers on your keyboard to macros/skills/spells etc and using them puts "??'s" in your chat bar?
  11. Azerothian

    Azerothian Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    139
    Just forget I asked if you are just going to pick me up on my language which is relatively standard computer/programming/macroing language and mostly accurate English.

    All I asked was what "if not, next time it does note the first two words or series of letters (from hotkeys)" (sic) means as I cannot parse that into English.

    So shoot me I am a retired programmer and trained copyeditor/proofreader in British English.

    Whatever.
  12. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    3,205
    good luck with that
  13. musicano

    musicano Member

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2016
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    12
    What about this, when trying to open razor. I am running in compatibility mode, I do have settings set to never notify, I've even tried reinstalling razor, but I still get it. I'm running Windows 7 Professional 64 bit. I get it right after I click okay in razor.

    [​IMG]

    I get it right after

    And just so people can search for this, if I ever find a solution I'm going to text it out

    System.AccessViolationException: Attempted to read or write protected memory. This is often an indication that other memory is corrupt.
    at Assistant.ClientCommunication.Load(String exe, String dll, String func, Void* dllData, Int32 dataLen, UInt32& pid)
    at Assistant.ClientCommunication.LaunchClient(String client)
    at Assistant.Engine.Main(String[] Args)
    Last edited: Nov 18, 2016
  14. Voltroth

    Voltroth Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2016
    Messages:
    241
    Likes Received:
    43
    just looking for some help here my laptop runs uo fine but my new desktop does not i have huge lag problems and flashing light in the background and my ping is averaging around 400-500 but my laptop is run off the same network but has no lag issues
    dennozz likes this.
  15. Azerothian

    Azerothian Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    139
    I can't resist! "Hi @Voltroth. How's your stronghold?"

    /me runs away
  16. Azerothian

    Azerothian Active Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2015
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    139
    Well, it WAS a razor issue. I just had to make sure all of my hot key bindings had "Pass to UO" unchecked and the problem went away. So much for your language nitpicking @wylwrk .
  17. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    2,390
    Likes Received:
    3,205
  18. Icewalker

    Icewalker New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2017
    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    14
    So I looked briefly I didnt see anything related to my problem, all of a sudden today I log on my char, and everyone in game is naked, and my backpack is bright red in the paper doll. Then about 2 seconds later uo crashes.....

    Past 6 days since I started everything was fine, now all of a sudden this is happening... no idea...

Share This Page