Vendor says that can teach "Evaluate Intelligence" but he doesen't

Discussion in 'Bug Reports' started by Buga, Mar 17, 2018.

  1. Buga

    Buga Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    57
    When you ask to teach a mage vendor it says that can teach Evaluate Intelligence, but when you ask for it, it doesn't work, you need to type "Evaluating Intelligence"

    Simple but confusing specially for new players.

    Ask for general teach:

    Vendor Teach.PNG

    Ask for teach evaluate intelligence, does not work.

    Vendor Teach 2.PNG

    Ask for teach evaluating intelligence works

    Vendor Teach 3.PNG

    I think it could be fixed just editing npc response when you ask for teach.

    Is maybe an era accurate bug? lol
    One and Kiryana like this.
  2. Buga

    Buga Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    57
    Found some more,

    If you ask to teach skill using full name it won't work for the following cases, you need to ask with the shorter version of skills to make it work:

    taste identification = taste
    musicanship = music
    forensic evaluation = forensic
    swordmanship = sword
  3. One

    One Well-Known Member
    UO:R Donor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    3,361
    I got the idea maybe you need to say MagicResist too?
  4. Buga

    Buga Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2015
    Messages:
    116
    Likes Received:
    57
    Yeah probably, I don't remember that case, it seems that vendors use another text string to identify skills, not sure if it's an easy fix.
  5. One

    One Well-Known Member
    UO:R Donor

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2015
    Messages:
    4,309
    Likes Received:
    3,361
    I get the idea it's relatively easy as fixes go (considering Chris was able to make a vendor that changes item names when you say "Shazam" I imagine he could program a vendor to translate one command into another) but there could be some weird caveat like the vendor can't accommodate two words at a time or something. Since I don't code I'm not qualified to say.

    @wylwrk why are (were?) the Dungeon Fairies unable to process the word "Cove"?
  6. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    8,089
    Because of Covetous
    One likes this.
  7. Rad

    Rad Well-Known Member
    UO:R Donor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2017
    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    490
    Code:
    if (sysmessage "covetous"):
        gate to covetous rune
    else
        if (sysmessage "cove"):
            gate to cove rune
        end if
    end if
    
  8. wylwrk

    wylwrk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2015
    Messages:
    5,096
    Likes Received:
    8,089

    nope
    gitchu1000 likes this.
  9. Hollywood

    Hollywood Well-Known Member
    UO:R Subscriber

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2017
    Messages:
    1,952
    Likes Received:
    1,661
    Was gonna make a separate thread but im sure this will fine. Went to train Item Identification at the jeweler. After this broad said she could teach me item identification, I was disappointed when she turned my request down with a cold shoulder.

    Anyway, after trying to whisper the right things to her, it appeared that "*name* train item" did the trick.

    To be more clear, item identification=item

Share This Page